Europe Solidaire Sans Frontières > English > Asia > Philippines > Mindanao (Philippines) > **The 30** media martyrs of Maguindanao

The 30 media martyrs of Maguindanao

Monday 30 November 2009, by PCIJ (Date first published: 30 November 2009).

MANILA, Philippines—Thirty, and not just 27, reporters and media workers were killed in a manner brutal beyond description in Maguindanao province on Nov. 23.

Another journalist, Jolito Evardo of UNTV General Santos City, had not yet been accounted for as of press time.

The 30 media workers comprised more than half of the 57 confirmed fatalities of what is now known as the Maguindanao Massacre, according to a list compiled and verified by the humanitarian and fact-finding mission of the Freedom Fund for Filipino Journalists (FFFJ), a network of independent media organizations, including the PCIJ.

Formed in 2001, the FFFJ provides financial assistance to families of slain journalists and legal support in the prosecution of their cases. Its founding members are the PCIJ, Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility, Center for Community Journalism and Development, Philippine Press Institute, Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas, and the Philippine News.

The FFFJ mission was conducted in partnership with the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP), Mindanews, and the Free Legal Assistance Group and its affiliate, Union of People's Lawyers for Mindanao, which lost two female members in the massacre.

The mission arrived in Mindanao on Nov. 25 to extend financial assistance to the victims, witnesses and their families, as well as to conduct an independent inquiry into and documentation of the massacre. Its report will be released this week.

Dr. Raquel Fortun, a forensic expert, was named consultant of the Commission on Human Rights, in partnership with the FFFJ, to assist in Maguindanao. She was assisted by the FFFJ team.

As verified by the mission, the complete list of the 30 "media martyrs" of Maguindanao is as follows:

- Adolfo, Benjie—Gold Star Daily, Koronadal City
- Araneta, Henry—radio dzRH, General Santos City
- Arriola, Mark Gilbert "Mac-Mac"—UNTV, General Santos
- Bataluna, Rubello—Gold Star Daily, Koronadal
- Betia, Arturo—Periodico Ini, General Santos
- Cabillo, Romeo Jimmy—Midland Review, Tacurong City
- Cablitas, Marites—News Focus, General Santos
- Cachuela, Hannibal—Punto News, Koronadal
- Caniban, John—Periodico Ini, General Santos

- Dalmacio, Lea—Socsargen News, General Santos
- Decina, Noel—Periodico Ini, General Santos
- Dela Cruz, Gina—Saksi News, General Santos
- Dohillo, Eugene–UNTV, General Santos
- Duhay, Jhoy—Gold Star Daily, Tacurong
- Gatchalian, Santos—dxGO, Davao City
- Legarte, Bienvenido Jr.—Prontiera News, Koronadal
- Lupogan, Lindo—Mindanao Daily Gazette, Davao City
- Maravilla, Ernesto "Bart"—Bombo Radyo, Koronadal
- Merisco, Rey—Periodico Ini, Koronadal
- Momay, Reynaldo "Bebot"—Midland Review, Tacurong
- Montaño, Marife "Neneng"—Saksi News, General Santos
- Morales, Rosell—News Focus, General Santos
- Nuñez, Victor—UNTV, General Santos
- Perante, Ronnie—Gold Star Daily correspondent, Koronadal
- Parcon, Joel—Prontiera News, Koronadal
- Razon, Fernando "Rani"—Periodico Ini, General Santos
- Reblando, Alejandro "Bong"—Manila Bulletin, General Santos
- Salaysay, Napoleon–Mindanao Gazette, Cotabato City
- Subang, Ian—Socsargen Today, General Santos
- Teodoro, Andres "Andy"—Central Mindanao Inquirer, Tacurong

They bring to 134 the number of journalists killed in the Philippines since 1986.

Of the total, 74 cases, or more than half, were recorded from 2001 under the watch of President Gloria Macapagal- Arroyo.

Report from the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism

P.S.

* From the Philippine Daily Inquirer. First Posted 02:22:00 11/30/2009.